Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Excellence in Teaching Awards


Excellence in teaching award

2018 Award Schedule

  • Call for nominations: 23 October 2017
  • Close of nomination period: 11 December 2017
  • Deadline for nominee award submissions: 19 March 2018
  • Meeting of the Judging Panel: April 2018
  • Faculty Awards Ceremony: 25 May 2018

2017 Award Winners

    Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning:
      Associate Professor Christopher Etherton-Beer
      Associate Professor Kimberley Roehrig
        Individual Teaching:
          Associate Professor Lena Lejmanoski
          Associate Professor Christopher Peacock
              Small Group Teaching in a Clinical/Practicum Setting (Metropolitan):
                Dr Paula Johnson
                  Small Group Teaching in a Clinical/Practicum Setting (Rural):
                    Dr Martin Lee

                      Small Group Teaching on Campus:

                      Associate Professor Agnieska Frydrych

                      Small Group Teaching on Campus (Postgraduate Student):

                      Mr Timo Ernst

                      Small Group Teaching (Non-UWA Employee):

                      Ms Elizabeth Byrnes 

                      Service Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning:

                      Mr Paul Kirkwood
                      Ms Marina Silich-Carrara

                        Postgraduate Coursework Teaching:

                        Associate Professor Cornelia  (Connie) Locher

                          Research Supervision:

                          Professor Paul V Abbott


                          Is there a teacher or Faculty member you think did a fantastic job this year - let them know!

                          The Excellence in Teaching  Awards are a way of recognising and rewarding outstanding teaching, research supervision, programs and service delivery and support within the Faculty.

                          If you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their contributions in enhancing excellence in teaching and learning within the Faculty, consider nominating them for an Excellence in Teaching Award in 2018.

                          Nominations for 2018 are now closed

                          Your participation in recognising teaching excellence in the Faculty is appreciated.

                          Award categories

                          The Faculty fosters and acknowledges excellence in its learning and teaching environment by recognising and rewarding its academic and general staff through three annual award programs. The Award programs available for nomination are:

                          • Awards for Teaching Excellence
                          • Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning
                          • Awards for Programs that Enhance Student Learning


                          If you have any questions about the awards, please contact: